Mystery Fossils Found at Oval Beach

HPIM6813 (1280x964)

Saugatuck Natural Harbor Area adjacent to Oval Beach, Saugatuck, MI

Mystery Fossil 1
Mystery Fossil #1

The very first photo above shows the Saugatuck Natural Harbor Area adjacent to Oval Beach on Lake Michigan. I have found many fossils in both locations which I can usually identify, but sometimes not!

SIDE NOTE: The grass growing on the dune is called Marram Grass or American Beach Grass. This grass actually stabilizes the West Michigan Dunes along Lake Michigan and assists in building them upwards along with the dominate westerly winds pushing the sand inland. The winds also reveal so many of the fossils I have found that I like to share with you.

I decided to post these photos of interesting mystery fossils, if that is indeed what they are. Some simply intrigued me, for example, #2 is a perfect circle inside the stone and #4 is something I have found before in similar shape. Hopefully, someone will glance upon these and help identify them. Maybe even you! Please make any suggestions that could provide possible answers!

Side Note: The last fossil, Mystery Fossil 5, was not found on the beach and I don’t even remember where I got it. I believe it could be a trace millipede fossil.

Mystery Fossil 2

Mystery Fossil #2

UPDATE: C. Chavez wrote me about Mystery Fossil #2: I believe your “Mystery Fossil 2″ is not a fossil, but a reductive rock. If you were to crack it open you’d find the perfect circle is actually a sphere. It is created by some foreign material that is introduced into the rock which results in bleaching. It is the same idea as if you were to put a drop of bleach on blue jeans and it would expand into a circle. We have many reductive rocks where I live in NM, but they are not common elsewhere. You can find me and many more people helping to identify fossils at “thefossilforum.com”

Mystery Fossil 2

Mystery Fossil #3

Mystery Fossil 4

Mystery Fossil #4

Mystery Fossil 5

Mystery Fossil #5

8 thoughts on “Mystery Fossils Found at Oval Beach

  1. Wow, these are great. You are fortunate to live in such a fossil rich area. I do too, but it takes strenuous hiking in the gorge to find them. Once I found one (some type of animal or invertebrate) almost two feet long, but when I went back with the camera, it was gone. Someone removed it with tools. So I obviously was not the first one to the find.

  2. I found a very unusual(to me) fossil on the beach of Lake Michigan in South Haven. Is there a way for me to send a picture to you?

  3. C. Chavez wrote me, but I’m certain he meant Mystery Fossil #2: I believe your “Mystery Fossil 1″ is not a fossil, but a reductive rock. If you were to crack it open you’d find the perfect circle is actually a sphere. It is created by some foreign material that is introduced into the rock which results in bleaching. It is the same idea as if you were to put a drop of bleach on blue jeans and it would expand into a circle. We have many reductive rocks where I live in NM, but they are not common elsewhere. You can find me and many more people helping to identify fossils at “thefossilforum.com”

Leave a Reply

